Coffee 'N' Coconuts

Healthy island living, eating, and exploring!

Costco finds

1 Comment

This morning, Erik and I woke up at 3:30 am (!!!!) to drive to the summit of Haleakala to watch the sunrise. It was absolutely amazing and I will be doing a full recap soon once we get all the pictures edited.

After watching the sunrise, we headed into town to get some work clothes for my first day tomorrow! Then we stopped by Costco to pick up a few things.

Beautiful drawing from Erik during our Old Navy trip

Beautiful drawing from Erik during our Old Navy trip

One of the first things that people asked us when we told them about moving to Maui was about the cost of living. Yes, most things are more expensive than on the mainland, but we have gotten pretty good at buying in bulk at Costco and only shopping there about once a week. I also supplement with some farmer’s market produce a few times a week, because it’s amazing πŸ™‚

Here are some of the best things I found this week-
image
Coconut milk- amazing in smoothies and in coffee
image
Chia seeds! Haven’t had these in awhile but I love putting them in yogurt and smoothies. I have been drinking at least 1-2 smoothies a day, stay posted for a recipe coming soon πŸ™‚
image
Single serving Starbucks Via…self explanatory

image
Pineapples, bananas, avocados (hiding in the corner), frozen berries (more smoothies!!) and purple Molokai sweet potatoes! I am loving all of the fresh produce here
image
My new favorite fish- wild opah. You guys. Lately i’ve been cooking this with just a bit of coconut oil and some spicy Ono (Hawaiian seasoning) and it is freaking amazing. Come over and I’ll make you some.
image

Last but not least, the man and I have a very special occasion to celebrate this Sunday! 1 year of marriage! We’ve learned everything there is to know about marriage this year, except how to share. So I decided we both get our own bottle of Prosecco πŸ˜‰ hehe.

Oh and one more thing, since we’re on the topic of booze…
image
Doesn’t this look dangerous amazing?!?! My mom, dad, and sister are in San Diego right now and sent me this picture during their happy hour. I’m a little jealous πŸ˜‰

– what are some new things you’ve been experimenting with in the kitchen lately?
– any suggestions on how to cook Opah?
– what are some of your favorite adult beverages?

Author: Amie

I am a 26 year old lover of all things health, fitness, and fun! I am a NASM certified personal trainer, TRX instructor and working towards becoming a Nutritional Therapy Practitioner! I am passionate about helping people improve their health and happiness through good nutrition and fun, sustainable workouts. Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave me a comment or e-mail me at coffeencoconuts@gmail.com with any questions.

One thought on “Costco finds

  1. Pingback: Sunrise at Haleakala | Coffee and Coconuts

Leave a Reply

