Coffee 'N' Coconuts

Healthy island living, eating, and exploring!

Chocolate Cravings

Leave a comment

Do you ever have a crazy craving for chocolate?
image

After lunch today, I needed some chocolate in a bad way, but didn’t have a chocolate bar anywhere in our apartment. Bummer.
Since I was too lazy to go buy one, I decided to get a little bit creative. I pulled out my favorite unsweetened cocoa/cacao powders from the cabinet, along with some coconut oil.
image

image

I remembered seeing some recipes around the blogosphere that recreated the ‘magic shell’ ice cream topping that I used to eat when I was a kid, but didn’t have an exact recipe so I just made up my own! Into the bowl went:

– 1 tbsp coconut oil (you may need to microwave for a few seconds if your apartment isn’t 1000 degrees like mine is :))
– 1 heaping tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder
image
– 1 packet stevia
image

Add a dash of almond or coconut milk to get everything moving and then mix it all up!
image

image
I promise it tastes much better than it looks! Hehe πŸ˜‰

Then place in the refrigerator or freezer for 20-30 minutes until the coconut oil solidifies again to create your own little chocolate bar in a cup. OR, pour this mixture onto your favorite ice cream to create the ‘magic shell’ that I mentioned before! Delish!

image

– what have you been craving lately?

Author: Amie

I am a 26 year old lover of all things health, fitness, and fun! I am a NASM certified personal trainer, TRX instructor and working towards becoming a Nutritional Therapy Practitioner! I am passionate about helping people improve their health and happiness through good nutrition and fun, sustainable workouts. Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave me a comment or e-mail me at coffeencoconuts@gmail.com with any questions.

Leave a Reply

