Coffee 'N' Coconuts

Healthy island living, eating, and exploring!

Hawaii Bucket List

2 Comments

In my short time being here in Maui, I have realized that there are soooo many activities that I want to experience! Some of them are specific to Maui/Hawaii, and others are just bucket list items that I want to do in the next few years. I’ve always been a fan of writing down things that I want to happen. I specifically journaled about wanting to get married in Maui and eventually live there, and look how that turned out! 🙂 I will (hopefully!) be updating it frequently and adding more things, but here is what I have so far!

Swim with dolphins in Lanai
image
My best friend, Sharaya, and her boyfriend just did this a few weeks ago and now I am dying to do it! They took a ferry over to Lanai and swam with the dolphins right off the shore! Erik and I are thinking about doing this for my birthday in November.

Go to a Luau
image
Ok, so I know this is like the lamest most touristy thing to do, but I still want to do it! Haha.

Find the best sushi

Even this grocery store sushi was amazing!

Even this grocery store sushi was amazing!


It’s definitely not hard to find great sushi here, but since it is my favorite food, I’m making it my goal to find all the best sushi restaurants around here.

Go on a dinner cruise
image
Another lame touristy thing, but I still want to do it!

Have my own garden
image
This one might be a few years down the road, but eventually when Erik and I have a house, I would LOVE to grow some of my own vegetables/fruit/herbs. I also think it would be amazing to have some chickens (fresh eggs!) and goats (cheese and snuggles!!!!) but I’m not sure if I’m ready for the kind of dedication that might take yet.

Make Kombucha
image
This one scares me a little bit. Basically you have to buy a scoby starter culture thing and let a few jars of tea ferment without them growing mold. I’m actually not really sure how to do it, but I LOVE Kombucha and refuse to pay 6 dollars for a bottle out here.

**Sidenote: As I was researching this, I actually came across a restaurant called Kombucha Maui! It looks like a health nut restaurant that serves Kombucha! Right up my alley, so trying this restaurant is now on my list, too 🙂

Go deep sea fishing/Speer fishing
image
I think it would be so awesome to catch a fish in the ocean! I want to try both Speer and deep sea fishing. For some reason I could never imagine hunting or anything like that, but fishing seems totally different (?!?). I would love to get a huge fish and cut it open and cook it for everyone to eat. Haha. Sorry for the visual.

Get a tattoo
I actually have 2 in mind that I’m planning on getting, and so does Erik.

Stay in a Fancy Hotel

 The Sheraton Maui

The Sheraton Maui


Staying in a nice hotel, ordering room service, and having someone else clean up after you is just so much fun! Even just for one night 🙂 Plus its fun to feel like you’re on vacation! (Although, I still kind of feel like I’m on vacation, even when I have to work. I’m absolutely not complaining one bit!)

Make my own poke

Ahi poke

Ahi poke


For those of you that have been to Hawaii, you have probably at least seen different kinds of poke (ahi, tako, crab) in the stores here. It is absolutely amazing, and I am currently trying to come up with my own recipe!

Ziplining, horseback riding, whale watching
image

image

image

More touristy things- they look so fun!

Learn to surf
image

I’m perfectly fine with never surfing a wave this size! I would really like to get over my fear of waves though, and just be able to surf some small ones!

See the rainbow trees in Hana
image

I was super bummed that I didn’t go to Hana with Erik last year when we were here, so we will definitely be planning another trip in the near future!

Helicopter over Waimea Canyon
image

How amazing does that look?? I think a helicopter ride would be so much fun!

Go to Waikiki
image
I think it would be fun to experience more of the city-life that Waikiki has to offer! Although I’ve been there before, Erik hasn’t, and I think it would be a really fun trip for us to take!

Plus, my Great Grandparents from my mom’s side of the family actually met on the stairs of the Sheraton Moana in Waikiki, Which I just think is like the coolest thing ever. No wonder I love Hawaii so much 🙂

I could think of like 50 more things but I’m gonna keep the list at this for now!

– Have you done any of these things? Any recommendations for things to add to my list?

– Tell me one thing that is on your bucket list for the next few years!

Author: Amie

I am a 26 year old lover of all things health, fitness, and fun! I am a NASM certified personal trainer, TRX instructor and working towards becoming a Nutritional Therapy Practitioner! I am passionate about helping people improve their health and happiness through good nutrition and fun, sustainable workouts. Thanks for stopping by! Feel free to leave me a comment or e-mail me at coffeencoconuts@gmail.com with any questions.

2 thoughts on “Hawaii Bucket List

  1. Those trees are too cool! I would love to visit Hawaii. And starting a garden is on my bucket list too!

  2. Hey, there! if you come to Waianae, you can swim/snorkel with dolphins, turtles and even the occasional manta ray in Pokai Bay, where you have been with us and your parents. You can also kayak, paddle board, surf, and swim. we have all the “toys” …it is a Waikiki paradise without the tourists. You just have to come visit! Maybe Thanksgiving or Christmas? And don’t forget, Uncle Brad took you and Ashley surfing at Waikiki years ago. And you caught lots of waves! Can’t wait to see you guys on Maui. xoxoxoAuntie Jessica

    Date: Sat, 7 Sep 2013 01:00:21 +0000 To: jabaang@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

